Screenplay Structure

The biggest issue I’m having with my screenplay at this stage is the structure of it. I have plenty of material and multiple narratives running through the script, but the structure falls flat in places.

During my final year doing my BA in Film and Video I write my first screenplay, Tom Sayers, and for that I found Voglers 12 steps very useful. We’ve gone over this and many other theorists structures over the year, but none of them are fitting into my current project.

However, I came across this article highlighting the five turning points in a screenplay and what happens before and after each. I’ve found that this is fitting into my idea more so than any of the others that I’ve studied, and my tutor agrees.

Once I’m able to fit everything into this structure, I’m hoping the logistics of the script will come naturally to me.

Here is the article I’m working from:
http://www.storymastery.com/story/screenplay-structure-five-key-turning-points-successful-scripts/

Leave a Reply

